Jupe Jupe presents a collection of darkwave-pop hooks in its latest full-length album, Midnight Waits for No One. Released on No-Count Records, the 12-song album is a noir-cocktail of soundscapes in Jupe Jupe’s unique style—with crooning vocals that soar over pulsing beats as guitars and sax cut across panoramic washes of synth.

Midnight Waits for No One is the result of two full years of hunkering down during the global pandemic—forgoing live performances and concentrating instead on crafting an album that tempers melancholy subject matter with escapism and hope.

To record the album, Jupe Jupe teamed up with producer Evan Foster at No-Count Studios in Seattle, WA. Foster is a member of Dirty Sidewalks, The Boss Martians, and The Sonics. Mixing the album was Matt Bayles, who worked on the two previous Jupe Jupe releases. A former member of Minus the Bear, Bayles has produced and mixed albums by Botch, Mastodon, Murder City Devils, He Whose Ox Is Gored, and more.

Since forming in 2010, the Seattle quartet has released six original albums– Invaders, Reduction in Drag, Crooked Kisses, Lonely Creatures, Nightfall, and now Midnight Waits for No One. The group also joined forces with a variety of renowned artists and producers for its remix album, Cut Up Kisses (featuring Lusine, Rick G. Nelson of The Afghan Whigs, Mike Simonetti, Erik Blood, and others).

Jupe Jupe is made up of My Young on vocals and synths; Bryan Manzo on guitar, bass, and saxophone; Patrick Partington on guitar; and Jarrod Arbini on drums and percussion. The four members are veterans of the Seattle and Austin music scenes.


“[A]nyone with even a passive appreciation for expertly applied, fluid synth riffs, drama-filled vocals, infectious pop choruses, and deft dance-rock grooves will be able to ease right in … ”

“Dark, hook-filled post punk with atmospheric synths, moody guitars, mournful sax, driving rhythms and melancholy melodies.”

“Clearly, Jupe Jupe has honed its sound, and the end result is an enjoyable blend of the Strokes, Simple Minds and Duran Duran, with a slight hint of ‘70s prog.”

Mining the new wave sound is nothing new, but the bands that make it work—Interpol, A Projection and now Jupe Jupe—make it feel instantly familiar and yet totally fresh and modern.”

There are sounds colored by breaths of Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and OMD, and even some quick little winks and grins towards Haircut 100 and early Cure. But these are jumping off points. Sonic references to further the genre and push it into the future. A future that is danceable, joyous, and stained with beautiful melancholy.”

“From opener ‘Faith in What You Hear’
I was grabbed: a new wave sound that audaciously double-jumps back to the Alan Parsons Project. I fell in love with this album [Lonely Creatures]: it just gets everything right.”

“We accidentally caught a Jupe Jupe live performance down in Austin during South-By-Southwest. The memory, hazy by design and fuzzy by alcohol, stands out in a sea of bands that week.”

“Coolly campy, exquisitely wrought electro-pop.”